Leiby Chapbook Contest

Each year The Florida Review Publications honors past editor Jeanne Leiby with the publication of a prose or graphic narrative chapbook. Starting in 2017, we are publishing our chapbooks in cooperation with Burrow Press for better exposure and distribution through small-press book channels.

The contest runs from September through December each year.

Winners receive publication and $1,000 (upon publication). Second-place winners receive tuition for the Sanibel Writers Conference, and possible publication of a selection in The Florida Review or Aquifer: The Florida Review Online.

You may also wish to read our general submission guidelines and/or familiarize yourself with our magazine to find out more about what kind of work we publish.

  • Submit up to 45 pages (double spaced and in MS Word for fiction or essay, pdf or jpeg if graphic narrative).
  • This is a blind-read contest. The manuscript should not have your name or other identifying information on any page. Please note that if your name is drawn into a panel of a graphic narrative, it should be blocked out. Submit a cover letter with your name and the title (or titles) of the submitted work.
  • Any combination of long or short stories, essays, or flash fiction or nonfiction–as well as graphic narrative–will be considered.
  • Graphic narrative must be black and white and in jpeg or pdf format.
  • Entry fee is $25.
  • All submissions will be considered for publication in The Florida Review or Aquifer: The Florida Review Online.
  • Simultaneous submissions are OK as long as they are withdrawn immediately upon acceptance elsewhere
  • Notification of results will be posted on The Florida Review website by the summer following the contest, and publication will be scheduled for the following spring.
  • In the unlikely event that no submitted manuscript is selected by the judge as fitting chapbook publication, only the second prize will be awarded.
  • Make sure to select the chapbook category in Submittable.

2016 Chapbook Winner

The fifth annual chapbook — The Persistence of Rivers, by Alison Townsend — is now available for $15 from our new publishing partner, Burrow Press.

2015 Chapbook Winner

The fourth annual chapbook — Reno, by Nat Akin — is now available for $14. Purchase via Amazon or our Chapbook Order Form.

2014 Chapbook Winner

The third annual chapbook — The Rug Bazaar, by Marylee Mcdonald — is now available for $12. Purchase with our Chapbook Order Form.

2013 Chapbook Winner

The second annual chapbook — A Year of Silence, by Polly Buckingham — is now available for $12. Purchase with our Chapbook Order Form.

2012 Chapbook Winner

The first annual chapbook — Rubia, by Patricia Grace King — now available for $12. SOLD OUT!