Florida Review at UCF

The 2013 Editors' Awards Results

The Florida Review is pleased to announce the winners and finalists in the 2013 Editors' Awards. These works will appear in The Florida Review 38.2. The first place winners each receive $1,000.

  • Fiction Winner: Dan Reiter, "All Your First Born"
  • Fiction Finalist: Rachel Borup, "Crash"
  • Essay Winner: Elisabeth Lanser-Rose, "Turnpike Psycho"
  • Essay Finalist: Tanya Bomsta, "Traditions"
  • Poetry Winner: John Blair, "Dirt," "And Yet It Moves," and "A Lesser Poet."
  • Poetry Finalist: Tanya Grae, "Verbal Abuse," "Cage Sonnet," and "Like Darwin's Finches"

2014 Editors' Awards

The Florida Review is pleased to announce the guidelines for the 2014 Editors' Awards in fiction, essay, and poetry. For more information, write flreview@ucf.edu.


The Florida Review Editors


Monday, March 17, 2014


  • First Place winner in each genre: Publication and $1000
  • One finalist in each genre: Publication


  • For prose, submit up to 25 pages (double-spaced word doc or pdf)
  • For poetry, submit up to 5 poems (word doc or pdf)
  • This is a blind-read contest. The manuscript should have only the title(s) – not the writer's name or other identifying information on any page
  • Submit a cover sheet that includes the manuscript title(s) and the writer's name, email address, phone number, and mailing address
  • Entry fee of $15 includes a one-year subscription to The Florida Review
  • All submissions will be considered for publication
  • Simultaneous submissions are fine if withdrawn immediately upon acceptance elsewhere
  • Submissions accepted until midnight on March 17, 2013
  • Submit here to The Florida Review

Past Winners


  • Essay Prize: Jean Harper (Uniondale, IN)
    • "Colic"
  • Essay Finalist: Mike Smith (Albuquerque, NM)
    • "Some Thoughts on LeeAnne"
  • Fiction Prize: Randolph Thomas (Baton Rogue, LA)
    • "Dispensations"
  • Fiction Finalist: Christine Nicolai (Spokane, WA)
    • "Thank you, Jesus"
  • Poetry Prize: Mike Schneider (Pittsburgh, PA)
    • "Skin"
    • "Flight to Yucatan"
    • "Sleeplessness"
  • Poetry Finalist: Jane Satterfield (Baltimore, MD)
    • "Her Familiars"
    • "Why I Won't Attend My Sister-in-Law's 'For Your Pleasure Party'"


  • Fiction Prize: Renato Escudero
    • "Barrio de mi Corazón"
  • Fiction Finalist: Kyle Michael Sullivan
    • "Desert Land"
  • Nonfiction Prize: Christopher Dickens
    • "Resurrections"
  • Nonfiction Finalist: Tim Bascom
    • "Checkpoint"
  • Poetry Prize: Laura Read
    • "The Goose Girl"
    • "A Woman Was Raped Here"
    • "For the Bible Tells Me So"
  • Poetry Finalist: Timothy Geiger
    • "Animal Soul"
    • "Babicka"
    • "Spells and Prayers


  • Fiction Prize: Gregg Cusick
    • “Clay Pigeons”
  • Fiction Finalist: Belea T. Keeney
    • “Out of Joint”
  • Nonfiction Prize: Barrie Jean Borich
    • “American Doll”
  • Nonfiction Finalist: Ron Tanner
    • “Doodler”
  • Poetry Prize: Michael White
    • “View of Delft”


  • Fiction Prize: Fred Setterberg
    • "Catechism"
  • Fiction Finalist: Steven Gehrke
    • "The Terraformation of Mars"
  • Nonfiction Prize: Deborah Thompson
    • "Buying Time"
  • Nonfiction Finalist: Christine Gelineau
    • "Cops"
  • Poetry Prize: Emily Van Kley
    • "Before Ghosts"
    • "Last of the Month"
    • "Vital Signs"
  • Poetry Finalist: Susan Rich
    • "Facing 50 with a Line by Robert Hayden"
    • "For My Student, Who Would Prefer to Remain Anonymous"


  • Fiction Prize: Julie Lekstrom Himes
    • "Packing Boxes"
  • Nonfiction Prize: Farnoosh Moshiri
    • "Walking on Thorns"
  • Poetry Prize: Maya Jewell Zeller
    • "Astoria"
    • "Mascara"


  • Grace Danborn
    • “I Catch a Colander at a Menses Celebration”
    • “The Social Worker Books a Flight Home”
    • “Learning Borealis”
    • “What is Normal”
    • “Break Up”
  • Joseph Levens
    • “Critical Cartography”
  • Kate Myers Hanson
    • “There's a Child Living in This House”


  • Dilruba Ahmed
    • “Fever”
    • “Mojlishpur”
    • “Clear Water”
  • CB Anderson
    • “River Talk”
  • Lee Reilly
    • “Better Homes & Losses”
Dan Reiter
Dan Reiter

Dan Reiter's last name is derived from the German word for horseman. In the sixteenth century, Reiters rode the countryside around Schwarzburg in black armor and capes, appointed with wheel-lock pistols and long swords. Later, the term came to mean loosely, "mercenary knight." The proper pronunciation is "writer," though people often vocalize it as "reader." Dan does not correct them. He lives in Cocoa Beach.

Elisabeth Lanser-Rose
Joh Blair

Lisa Lanser-Rose drove the Turnpike while getting her MFA at Penn State, and then made it safely to Florida, where she writes, teaches, and runs with her Border Collie. She is the author of the novel Body Sharers (Rutgers University Press) and the memoir For the Love of a Dog (Crown Publishing). Body Sharers placed among the top-five finalists for the PEN/Hemingway Foundation Award for Best First Novel, The Washington Prize for Fiction, and an excerpt for the AWP Intro Awards. Recent essays and stories have appeared in Superstition Review, The Tampa Review Online, Sugar Mule Literary Magazine, Saw Palm: Florida Literature and Art, and Ascent Literary Magazine.

John Blair
John Blair

John Blair was born in St. Petersburg, Florida in 1961.  His poetry collection, The Occasions of Paradise was published by the University of Tampa press in 2012, and his first book of poems, The Green Girls, was the 2003 winner of the Lena-Miles Wever Todd Award from Pleiades Press.  His short story collection, American Standard, was the 2002 winner of the Drue Heinz Literature prize and was published by the University of Pittsburgh Press.  He also has two novels from Ballantine/Del Rey, Bright Angel and A Landscape of Darkness, and has poems & stories in Poetry, The New York Quarterly, The Sewanee Review, The Antioch Review, New Letters, and elsewhere.  He is on the faculty at Texas State University, where he teaches American Literature and directs the undergraduate creative writing program.

Jean Harper - Uniondale, IN
Jean Harper
Randolph Thomas - Baton Rouge, LA
Randolph Thomas
Mike Schneider - Pittsburgh, PA
Mike Schneider
Fred Setterberg
Fred Setterberg
Deborah Thompson
Deborah Thompson

Deborah Thompson, a Florida native, now lives in the foothills of Colorado, where she is an Associate Professor of English at Colorado State University. She has published numerous essays in literary criticism and creative nonfiction in venues ranging from African American Review to The BARk magazine to Calyx to Fourth Genre, and is the winner in the nonfiction category of the 2008 Missouri Review Editor’s Prize.

Christine Gelineau
Christine Gelineau

Christine Gelineau's essays, poems, and reviews have appeared widely. Her latest book, Appetite for the Devine will be published by Ashland Poetry Press in April, 2010. Gelineau is the Associate Director of the Creative Writing Program at Binghamton University and she also teaches in the low-residency MA/MFA at Wilkes University.

Emily Van Kley
Emily van Kley

Emily Van Kley was raised in Upper Michigan, but now makes her home in Olympia, Washington, where she works at a collective food coop, gardens the vacant lot next to her apartment, writes, and gripes about the rain. She holds an MFA from the Inland Northwest Center for Writers in Spokane and this year her poems have received honorable mention for the Joy Harjo and Oberon poetry prizes. Her fiction has appeared in The Republic of Letters and Faultline.

The Florida Review • English Department • College of Arts & Humanities • University of Central Florida
Technical Support: cahweb@ucf.edu